The Link Entertainment

Connecting.Curating.Creating The Culture

President Biden, Mark Zuckerberg & Morgan Freeman among 963 Americans banned from Russia – but not Trump


Grigory Dukor | Reuters


Russia released a list on Saturday of nearly 1,000 Americans permanently banned from entering the country, including President Joe Biden, Vice President Kamala Harris, Hollywood actor Morgan Freeman and Facebook founder Mark Zuckerberg

Reportedly, all 963 Americans were barred in response to their United States’ support of Ukraine and sanctions imposed on Russia.

The Russian Foreign Ministry included a wide range of politicians, journalists, tech executives, Biden administration members and regular US citizens. 

“Russian counter-sanctions are forced and aimed at forcing the ruling American regime, which is trying to impose a neo-colonial ‘rules-based world order’ on the rest of the world, to change its behavior, recognizing new geopolitical realities,” according to a statement released by the Russian ministry.

The citizens included on the list, such as Hillary Clinton, were allegedly claimed to incite “Russophobia”, including deceased politicians as well, such as Sen. Harry Reid, D-Nev.

Former President Donald Trump, however, was not included on the list. Trump has praised Putin in the past and asked the Russian president to release any “dirt” he may have on Biden and his son, back in March.

According to the Russian ministry, Hollywood actor Morgan Freeman was banned due to a video back in Sep. 2020 which allegedly accused Russia of conspiring against the US.

Several of the banned citizens took to Twitter to express their opinions. 

U.S. ambassador to the Organization for Security and Cooperation in Europe, Michael Carpenter, wrote “What an honor.”

Donna Brazile, a veteran political strategist and former interim Democratic National Committee chair wrote “Oh well, I support democratic governments over authoritarian led dictators. Bye Putin!”

About Author