The Link Entertainment

Connecting.Curating.Creating The Culture

Kirk Franklin and Maverick City Music release collaboration album ‘Kingdom Book 1’




Gospel group Maverick City Music and Kirk Franklin release their first collaboration album, ‘Kingdom Book 1.’ Produced on the grounds of a Florida prison, the 11-track album was made to bring awareness of the injustices around mass incarceration. 

The album features the voices of 1,300 inmates and was constructed by Tribl Records, Fo Yo Soul Entertainment and RCA Inspiration. Through their voices, these men have formed a core belief movement to inspire and help others know their stories.

“I think this album is for every fan that loves music, and our hope is that these songs and the stories behind them will serve as a way to raise awareness of the challenges that people face every day – many of which are forgotten about,” said Maverick City Music composer Jonathan Jay. “For me, the most impactful part of this experience was the prisoners’ reaction to being remembered as humans. It was an overwhelming sense of gratitude and excitement that carried through every day we spent with these men. It was unbelievable, and I think if more people would just become aware of these feelings, they would want to help find a solution for the issues that come with incarceration.”

Here’s the track list of ‘Kingdom Book 1’

1. Kingdom – Feat. Naomi Raine, Chandler Moore

2. Fear Is Not My Future – Feat. Brandon Lake, Chandler Moore

3. Bless Me

4. Jealous – Feat. Chandler Moore, Lizzie Morgan

5. Talkin Bout (Love) – Feat. Chandler Moore, Lizzie Morgan

6. The One You Love – Feat. Brandon Lake, Dante Bowe, Chandler Moore

7. My Life Is In Your Hands – Feat. Chandler Moore

8. Melodies From Heaven – Feat. Chandler Moore, Maryanne George

9. I Smile – Feat. Lizzie Morgan

10. Why We Sing – Feat. Brandon Lake

11. Take Me Back – Feat. Dante Bowe, Chandler Moore, Ryan Ofei

“We want awareness around the topics that affect the community that we represent, as black and brown people, primarily,” said Maverick City Music’s Tony Brown. “It’s important that we’re able to not just share our songs, but also share the heart and the lives that these songs are coming from. Most of us, in some way, have been impacted by these issues, and as we mature as artists, the things that matter to us the most need to take precedence. This is one of them. In addition to awareness, I hope this album motivates people to do something about these issues,” says Brown. “It’s being proactive – giving to foundations that help figure out how to stop mass incarceration, volunteering in communities that are grossly affected by it, and acknowledging that this is a real thing. If we can get a small number of people to acknowledge this issue exists, then that’s a huge win for us.”

Last month the collaboration released a preview song ‘Kingdom’, which has over 100,000 views on YouTube. 

Maverick City Music receives blessing on blessing as they have been nominated for multiple awards this year, including three 2022 K-Love Awards nominations. Franklin and Maverick City kicked off the summer with their ‘Kingdom’ tour, planning to perform in 37 arenas across the nation throughout the end of July.

About Author