The Link Entertainment

Connecting.Curating.Creating The Culture

Stacey Abrams nominated for Nobel Peace Prize



U.S. voting rights activist and Democratic party politician Stacey Abrams has been nominated by a Norwegian lawmaker for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize due to her promoting nonviolent change through the ballot boxes for elections. 

Abrams played a critical role to help thousands of Georgia citizens register to vote for the 2020 presidential election, which helped Joe Biden win the U.S. presidency, and Senate runoff election in Georgia. She is now being nominated for her outstanding role in politics and change.

Abrams made history as the first woman to lead a political party in Georgia’s General Assembly and the first African American to lead the Georgia House of Representatives. 

Abrams launched Fair Fight to ensure every American has a voice in the election system. Through programs such as Fair Fight, they are able to fund and train voter protection teams in 20 battleground states. 

The nominations for this year’s Nobel Peace Prize is outstanding, the nominations ranges from the Black Lives Matter protest movement as well as Daniel Ellsberg, who leaked the “Pentagon Papers” about the Vietnam War to voting rights campaigner Stacey Abrams, climate campaigner Greta Thunberg, and former President Donald Trump’s son-in-law Jared Kushner, for his work in building peace deals between Israel and several Arab states. 

The Norwegian Nobel Committee decides who ultimately wins the award. Although they do not comment on nominations, nominators can choose to reveal their picks.

The winner of this year’s Nobel Peace Prize is expected to be announced in October 2021.

Past winners of the prestigious award include former U.S. Presidents Theodore Roosevelt, Woodrow Wilson, Jimmy Carter and Barack Obama; former South African President Nelson Mandela, and female education activist Malala Yousafzai.

Abrams continues to be a lifetime member of the Council on Foreign Relations, where she serves on the Subcommittee on Diversity. She continues to live out the missions of historical individuals such as Martin Luther King. She is a recipient of the John F. Kennedy New Frontier Award and a current member of the Board of Directors for the Center for American Progress. 

Abrams has also written eight romantic suspense novels under the pen name Selena Montgomery, in addition to the New York Times best-selling Lead from the Outside and Our Time is Now.

There is no stopping Abrams as long as there is need for change and efforts for equality.